Session 2: GCFWatch International Webinar Series – CSO-led monitoring and evaluation of GCF-approved projects

As civil society organizations that follow on the GCF we have put a lot of attention in the review of funding proposals presented to the Board. During this session we will look further on, into the basic aspects of the implementation of the projects and programs that are approved by the Board.

Date: July 7th, 2022
Time: 8 a. m. (Mexico City) / 9 a. m. (Santiago and Washington)
3 p. m. (Berlin) / 9 p. m. (Manila)
Language: English (with simultaneous interpretation in Spanish, Portuguese and French)
Free registration: https://bit.ly/2022GCFWatchSeries

The role civil society plays in monitoring the Green Climate Fund (GCF) is crucial to make the best use of much-needed climate resources, while also avoiding the worse impacts brought up by false solutions.

The GCF Watch is a civil society initiative, led from the Global South, created to improve access to information on GCF matters and enable better public follow-up and supervision of the GCF.

In this second version of the GCF Watch International Webinar Series, experts from across the globe will come together in three webinars to discuss the GCF, the work being done, and ways in which you can contribute to this important effort.

Each session will include expert presentations followed by an open space for conversation among attendees and panelists.

  • June 1 – Session 1: The GCF Watch and our work in 2022.
  • July 7 – Session 2: CSO-led monitoring and evaluation of GCF-approved projects.
  • August 3 – Session 3: Important topics around the GCF.

Agenda for the second webinar

  1. The role of different actors in the implementation of projects approved by the GCF: Bertha Argueta, Germanwatch.
  2. The role of the Independent Redress Mechanism (IRM): Peter Carlson, Communications Associate of the IRM.
  3. Monitoring implementation of projects in Africa: Said Chakri, Association of Teachers of Life Sciences and Earth of Morocco (AESVT).
  4. Monitoring implementation of projects in Asia: Titi Soentoro, Aksi! for Gender, Social and Ecological Justice.
  5. The implementation of Gender Action Plans: Tara Daniel, Women’s Environment and Development Organization (WEDO).
  6. Open discussion.

Moderator: Claire Miranda, Asian Peoples’ Movement on Debt and Development (APMDD).

Menu